The 10 Kasiṇa

Home / Buddhist Studies / Meditation / The 10 Kasiṇa

The first ten objects of meditation of the forty kammaṭṭhānas – that can be found in the Visuddhimagga –  are the visual objects of meditation; also known as kasiṇa.

These ten kasiṇas are to be used for the development of concentration (samādhi). Building a solid foundation for the practitioner’s one-pointed concentration (ekāgata samādhi) is essential for proceeding to the next (sets of) objects of the kammaṭṭhānas.

The following elements and colors are to be gazed upon:

  1. The Earth element (paṭhavī kasiṇa),
  2. The Water element (āpo kasiṇa),
  3. The Wind element (vāyo kasiṇa),
  4. The Fire element (tejo kasiṇa),
  5. A blue/green colored disc (nīla kasiṇa),
  6. A yellow colored disc (pīta kasiṇa),
  7. A red colored disc (lohita kasiṇa),
  8. A white colored disc (odāta kasiṇa),
  9. A(n) (enclosed) space disc (ākāsa kasiṇa),
  10. A bright light disc (āloka kasiṇa).

Through gazement upon these kasiṇa discs, the mind will learn to absorp in concentration. The visual objects of meditation – the ten kasiṇas – are then to be internalized by the practitioner, meaning that he or she should become adept in seeing and recognizing the external (visual) objects of meditation both when the eyes are opened, as well as when they are shut. By doing so, the practitioner shall soon become no longer dependent upon material objects of meditation in the external world, but he or she will learn to develop visibility with the mind’s inner eye instead.

Here are ten useful video clips (YouTube playlist) that can be used for kasiṇa practice:


Thai Buddhist Amulets Newsletter
Join our Mailing List
Follow Us
Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.